Latest Solidarity Issue

UAW Deere workers overwhelmingly ratify new agreement


MOLINE, Ill. -- UAW members at 15 Deere & Company facilities have overwhelmingly ratified a new six-year agreement covering approximately 9,500 employees at facilities in Iowa, Kansas, Colorado, Illinois and Georgia.

Workers approved the contract by a margin of 82 percent in favor in voting that took place on Sunday.

UAW Vice President Jimmy Settles, who directs the union's Agricultural Implement Department, thanked the UAW members at Deere for their perseverance and solidarity.

"Our members remained strong and our negotiating team delivered a contract that our members wholeheartedly support and approve," said Settles. "This contract gives our members wage gains and protections, job security improvements and pension gains they need to keep pace with today's economic uncertainties."

"In addition to the economic improvements, our members gained a new apprenticeship program that will give them new opportunities to enhance their skills and transition to better jobs," said UAW Region 4 Director Dennis Williams.

Also, the new agreement gives workers a $3,500 ratification bonus and includes a commitment from Deere that no plants will close during the life of the agreement, which expires Oct. 1, 2015.

The locations represented by the UAW/Deere Master Factory Agreement include the John Deere Harvester Works in East Moline, Ill.; John Deere Seeding Group/Cylinder Division in Moline, Ill.; John Deere North American Parts Distribution Center in Milan, Ill., John Deere Davenport (Iowa) Works; John Deere Des Moines (Iowa) Works; John Deere Dubuque Works (Iowa); John Deere Ottumwa (Iowa) Works; John Deere Engine Works; John Deere Waterloo Works; John Deere Waterloo Tractor, Cab Assembly Operations, John Deere Product Engineering Center, John Deere Foundry, all in Waterloo, Iowa; and parts depots in Atlanta and Denver. The John Deere Coffeyville (Kan.) Works also are covered by the agreement.